IPT…i’m lovin’ it


WHY DID I CHOOSE IPT ?

After graduating in 2004 with a B.S in Chemical Engineering from Georgia Tech, I joined the nationally acclaimed leader in educational change, Teach For America.  I enjoyed teaching so much that I stayed an additional 3 years past my two year requirement.  Realizing that I love solving problems, creating learning solutions, and applying technology, I decided to see what careers I could find in instructional design.  Upon review of the  skills of instructional designer, I realized that teaching has many similarities to instructional design

  • Setting standard-based goals
  • Conducting learner analysis
  • Creating learning objectives and activities)
  • Developing  instructional strategies/materials
  • Implementing instruction
  • Assessing learner performance
  • Using assessments for reflective feedback

After seeing these similarities and realizing that I wanted to transition into the corporate world, I decided to apply to the masters degree program in Instructional and Performance Technology (IPT) at Boise State University.  I was accepted as a masters degree candidate in August 2009.   What initially attracted me to the Boise State University IPT program was its progressive and dynamic commitment to equipping students with the knowledge and skills necessary to be effective practitioners and respected researchers in instructional technology. After having reviewed many online programs, the Masters program in IPT is matched by no other online Masters program and would be invaluable in helping me achieve an extensive and exemplary career .

Upon graduation from the Instructional and Performance Technology (IPT) program, my professional goal is to work in a corporate environment, designing educational or training instruction, either as an internal instructional designer within a larger company, or as part of a firm that performs contract work for other companies. Regardless of the different areas of instructional design, I feel competent and have interest in the full process of human performance improvement, from analysis, to design, development, implementation, and evaluation. Being able to act in a performance improvement capacity would also be a part of this goal, with particular interest in analyzing the different processes, systems, and people that make up a company.

About IPTtoolkit--Eboni DuBose

Hi!! I'm Eboni. A Masters Candidate in the Instructional and Technology program at Boise State. Come along and join in on my learning experiences. I look forward to having wonderful conversations from other learning professinals
This entry was posted in Featured Pic. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

