Applying Gagne’s 9 Event’s of Instruction


This week in IPT we are tasked with applying the Gagne’s 9 Events of Instruction to a classroom/lab-based instruction or on-the-job training (OJT) instruction or online instruction.

BACKGROUND: I chose to do a lesson based off of my experience using Prometheon whiteboards in the classroom.  During my maternity leave(Spring 2005), the training was given to select teachers who had an aptitude for technology.  (These classes would be the “testers” of the new technology.  Eventually, more whiteboard would be purchased and these select teachers would be the “experts” who would assist other teachers with lead in training, troubleshooting, and developing lesson plans.)  On my return, I learned quickly from “experts”, by trial and error, and watching online tutorials. This is my fictional account of how I think the training would have gone if I had been present.

REVIEW: Gagné 9 events explains instruction as “deliberately prepared and organized external events”.  The 9 events act as a instructional sequence. The 9 events also act as a taxonomy in order to help instructional designers orderly classify instructional events appearing the order in which the a classroom instructor would address them.

To view, click on the image below


 

About IPTtoolkit--Eboni DuBose

Hi!! I'm Eboni. A Masters Candidate in the Instructional and Technology program at Boise State. Come along and join in on my learning experiences. I look forward to having wonderful conversations from other learning professinals
This entry was posted in instructional design, instructional technology, IPT 536, portfolio and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

